Apply for a Marriage License at the Recorder’s Office (on first floor of the courthouse).
The marriage license application can be completed online. The application does not need to be printed by the applicants. Completed applications must be signed in person by both parties at the Recorder’s Office. Applications will be available for 90 days.
If either person has had a previous marriage the date, city, state, and county of termination must be provided on the application. Social security numbers will need to be provided at the time of application.
Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
Applicants will be required to provide identification.
The marriage license will be valid six months from the date of issue. The marriage ceremony must take place within the geographical boundaries of Minnesota.
Beginning August 1, 2023, applicants with a felony conviction for a crime committed under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction may no longer change their name through the marriage process. Individuals with a felony conviction will need to apply for a legal name change with the district court in their county of residence. Minnesota residents may apply through the district court at no charge if the person files the action within 180 days after the marriage and submits to the court a certified copy of the marriage certificate.
- Marriage License Fee is $115
- Proof of premarital education counseling reduces the fee to $40 (must be submitted in format required by Minnesota statutes. See MS 517.08, Subdivision 1b (b))