Birth Certificates

Minnesota birth certificates from 1935 to present are available at any courthouse in Minnesota. For Minnesota births prior to 1935, please contact the county in which the person was born.

If you wish to purchase a birth certificate from this office, it is wise to call ahead being there is only one person authorized to print them.
The calendar to the right of the Recorder Home page should show dates of "no vitals services".

Tangible Interest
Minnesota Statutes, Section 144.225, Subdivision 7, restricts access to a certified birth or death certificate, which means you must have a tangible interest to obtain a certified birth or death record. This law was effective August 1, 2000.

Find more information about tangible interest on the Minnesota Department of Health's website.

Fees for Birth Certificates

Certificate Fee
Certified copies
$26 for the 1st copy
$19 for each additional copy purchased at the same time
Uncertified copies
$13 for the 1st copy
$6 for each additional copy  purchased at the same time

Print Birth Certificate Applications here. 
Applications are also available at the Recorder's Office.

Apply in Person   
When applying in person, please bring a valid ID (usually your current driver's license).   Sign the application in front of the person issuing the certificate.

Apply by Mail      
When applying by mail, please complete and sign the application and include a copy of your valid ID (make sure the photo shows clearly and is not blackened).